Holidays and Closings

Holidays and Closings

All Library locations will be closed on the following dates:

Monday, Sept. 6, 2021 Labor Day: Closed
Thursday, Nov. 25, 2021  Thanksgiving Day
Friday, Nov. 26, 2021 Thanksgiving Day (Observed)
Friday, Dec. 24, 2021 Christmas Day (Observed)
Saturday, Dec. 25, 2021 Christmas Day
Sunday, Dec. 26, 2021 Christmas Day (Observed)
Friday, Dec. 31, 2021 New Year's Day (Observed)
Saturday, Jan. 1, 2022 New Year's Day
Sunday, Jan. 2, 2022 New Year's Day (Observed)
Saturday, Apr. 16, 2022 Emancipation Day
Monday, May 30, 2022 Memorial Day
Sunday, June 19, 2022 Juneteenth
Monday, June 20, 2022 Juneteenth (Observed)
Monday, July 4, 2022 Independence Day
Monday, Sept. 5, 2022 Labor Day
Thursday, Nov. 24, 2022 Thanksgiving Day
Saturday, Dec. 24, 2022 Christmas Day (Observed)
Sunday, Dec. 25, 2022 Christmas Day
Monday, Dec. 26, 2022 Christmas Day (Observed)
Saturday, Dec. 31, 2022 New Year's Day (Observed)

Library hours will be reduced on the following dates:

Wednesday, Nov. 24, 2021, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Thanksgiving Day (Observed)
Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2022, 10 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Thanksgiving Day (Observed)

A Library location will be open in each ward on the following dates:

Monday, Oct. 11, 2021 Indigenous People's Day
Thursday, Nov. 11, 2021 Veterans Day
Monday, Jan. 17, 2022 Martin Luther King Jr. Day
Monday, Feb. 21, 2022 Presidents Day
Friday, Apr. 15, 2022 Emancipation Day (Observed)
Monday, Oct. 10, 2022 Indigenous Peoples Day
Friday, Nov. 11, 2022 Veterans Day
The libraries were selected based on their size and close proximity to public transportation.
  The DC Public Library is open online for customers 365 days a year! Access digital resources and watch live and pre-recorded virtual programs on Youtube and Facebook