Celebrating Pulitzer Prize Winners and Finalists

Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library - Central Library

Celebrating Pulitzer Prize Winners and Finalists

pulitzerThe Pulitzer Prize is an award for achievements in newspaper and online journalism, literature and musical composition in the United States. It was established in 1917 by provisions in the will of American (Hungarian-born) publisher Joseph Pulitzer, and is administered by Columbia University in New York City. 

Joseph Pulitzer gave money in his will to Columbia University to launch a journalism school and establish the Prize. It allocated $250,000 to the prize and scholarships. He specified "four awards in journalism, four in letters and drama, one in education, and four traveling scholarships."  After his death, the first Pulitzer Prizes were awarded June 4, 1917; they are now announced each April.

Prizes are awarded yearly in 21 categories. In 20 of the categories, each winner receives a certificate and a US $10,000 cash award. The winner in the public service category of the journalism competition is awarded a gold medal.

Stop by Room 220 at the Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library to see the display and browse through various Pulitzer Winners and Finalists in Non-Fiction, History, Biography, Poetry and Drama.  You can also look through printouts that list all Winners and Finalists since the first Prize was given. Or, select a topic below and you will be taken to the Pulitzer Prize Winners and Finalist (since 1980). 

Letters, Drama, and Music
Biography or Autobiography (1917-present)
Drama (1917-present)
Fiction (1948-present)
General Nonfiction (1962-present)
DisplayHistory (1917-present)
Music (1942-present)
Novel (1917-1947)
Poetry (1922-present)

Journalism Categories
Beat Reporting (1991-2006)
Breaking News Photography (2000-present)
Breaking News Reporting (1998-present)
Commentary (1970-present)
Correspondence (1929-1947)
Criticism (1970-present)
Editorial Cartooning (1922-present)
Editorial Writing (1917-present)
Explanatory Journalism (1985-1997)
Explanatory Reporting (1998-present)
Feature Photography (1968-present)
Feature Writing (1979-present)
General News Reporting (1985-1990)
International Reporting (1948-present)
Investigative Reporting (1985-present)
Local General or Spot News Reporting (1964-1984)
Local Investigative Specialized Reporting (1964-1984)
Local Reporting (1948-1952, 2007-present)
Local Reporting – Edition Time (1953-1963)
Local Reporting – No Edition Time (1953-1963)
National Reporting (1948-present)
Newspaper History Award (1918)
Photography (1942-1967)
Public Service (1917-present)
Reporting (1917-1947)
Specialized Reporting (1985-1990)
Spot News Photography (1968-1999)
Spot News Reporting (1991-1997)
Telegraphic Reporting – International (1942-1947)
Telegraphic Reporting – National (1942-1947)

Special Awards and Citations
Special Awards and Citations (1917-present)