'Shroud for a Nightingale' by P.D. James

Cleveland Park LibraryBook Clubs

'Shroud for a Nightingale' by P.D. James

Cleveland Park Mystery Book Club February selection

In memory of P.D. James who died in November, 2014, at the age of 94, we will discuss Shroud for a Nightingale on Thursday, Feb. 5.

P.D. James created 14 detective novels featuring Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard, many of which were adapted for television and aired in the United States on PBS Mystery! Credited with elevating the literary status of the modern detective novel, she incorporated knowledge from her careers in hospital administration, as an administrator in the forensic science and criminal law division of the Home Office, and serving on the bench as a local magistrate. After being created a life peer in 1991, she held a seat in the House of Lords.

Shroud for a Nightingale is the fourth in the Dalgliesh series and received the first of her many awards, the 1971 CWA Silver Dagger.
During a routine inspection at Nightingale House by the General Nursing Council, a student nurse playing the part of a patient dies during a demonstration. A few days later the student originally scheduled to take part in the demonstration dies. The author's complex character development and plotting are vividly described as is the atmosphere of Nightingale House where crimes of abuse, neglect and death had previously taken place.

The book is available for checkout in a variety of formats.

Follow this link to P.D. James's advice on Mystery Writing Lessons.

The Cleveland Park Mystery Book Club meets on the first Thursday of the month, 6:30 p.m., at Barnes and Noble, 12th and E streets, NW.
    Shroud for a Nightingale book cover