Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Northeast LibraryRead Feed

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

There are many other great books out there that offer immersion into an enchanting world of magic, mystery, fantasy, and adventure.  Nothing can replace the love that you have for Harry Potter, but at least you’ll have something to read while you’re waiting for your Hogwarts letter to arrive.
 
Magyk by Angie Sage
Magyk is the first of the seven-book Septimus Heap series. Wizards, boggarts, princesses, and more lurk through the pages of this magykal book, which starts with Septimus Heap being pronounced dead at birth. If that were the truth, however, we wouldn’t have much of a story, would we? Read this book and you’ll soon find out that nothing is quite as it seems in the wizarding world of Septimus Heap.
 
Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief by 
Percy Jackson is void of wizards, but takes readers on a magical and mythical journey to another magical school called Camp Half-Blood: a school for children of humans and mythical Greek gods. At the age of 12, Percy Jackson discovers that he is in fact a demi-god (half god and son of Poseidon), and shortly after attending Camp Half-Blood for the first time, he must embark on a journey to the underworld to retrieve the god Zeus’ stolen lightning bolt.
 
The Unwanteds by Lisa McMann
The Unwanteds follows the story of a boy named Alex, who is pronounced an “Unwanted” on his 13th birthday. In the land of Quill, you are either “Wanted” and are preened to become a member of the Quillitary (like Alex’s twin brother Aaron), a “Necessary,” who tends to the farms of Quill, or you are an “Unwanted” and are sentenced to death. Instead of facing death, however, Alex finds that he and all of the other Unwanteds have been saved and sent to the magical land of Artimé. In Artimé, all of the other Unwanteds are being trained to use their creative talents to prepare for war.
 
Fablehaven by Brandon Mull
In Fablehavena trip to visit their grandparent’s estate turns out to be no ordinary visit when 13-year-old Kendra and her 11-year-old brother Seth enter Fablehaven, a protected area for magical creatures that is overseen by their grandfather, the Fablehaven caretaker. When Kendra and Seth break an important rule, the consequences are dire and it’s up to them to save their grandparents amidst a world of fairies, demons, witches and imps.
 
The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud
The Amulet of Samarkand is the first book of the Bartimaeus trilogy. Like Harry Potter, Nathaniel has a rough start in life. He doesn’t live in a cupboard under the stairs, but he is sold to the government by his parents at the age of five. In this parallel modern-day London, however, Parliament is run by a group of powerful magicians and Nathaniel is the apprentice to a cruel master. Seeking revenge against his master for being mistreated and humiliated, Nathaniel delves into learning deep and powerful magic, and unleashes a dangerous and deadly force.