Read-alikes: The Scarlet Sisters: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in the Gilded Age

Read Feed

Read-alikes: The Scarlet Sisters: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in the Gilded Age

If you enjoyed reading The Scarlet Sisters: Sex, Suffrage, and Scandal in the Gilded Age by Myra Macpherson, you might enjoy reading the following books that can be found at DC Public Library:
 
Notorious Victoria: the Life of Victoria Woodhull, Uncensored by Mary Gabriel
Another biography of Victoria Woodhull that is a comprehensive account of her and her controversial life. Excerpts from Victoria’s writings and speeches are included in the book. 


The Witch of Lime Street: Séance, Seduction, and Houdini in the Spirit World by David Jaher 
In the 1920s, Arthur Conan Doyle convinced a well know spiritualist, Mina Crandon, to participate in a contest sponsored by 
Scientific American. The contest gave a monetary award to the first medium that was proved to be authentic by a five man panel. Harry Houdini was determined to prove that Mina Crandon was a fraud. 
 
Talking to the Dead: Kate and Maggie Fox and the Rise of Spiritualism by Barbara Weisberg
In 1848, Kate and Maggie Fox started the spiritualist movement by reporting that there had been strange and unidentified noises and knocks in their house. Kate and Maggie Fox translated these sounds into a code to communicate with the spirits. Interestingly enough, they said that they had never communicated with the spirits years after this event. 


Bringing Down the Colonel: a Sex Scandal of the Gilded Age, and the “Powerless” Woman Who Took on Washington by Patricia Miller
Madeline Pollard had an affair for a decade with Kentucky Congressman William Breckrinridge who was married. After William’s wife died, they became engaged but William abruptly broke the engagement and married somebody else. In 1893, Madeline sued William for “breach of promise” and exposed the double standards of the Victorian Age regarding sexuality. 


The Republic for Which it Stands: the United States During Reconstruction and the Gilded Age, 1865-1896 by Richard White
Richard White illustrates how Reconstruction, the lack of unity among the American public during Reconstruction, and the Gilded Age helped set the stage for the society we have today. 


Not for Ourselves Alone: the Story of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: an Illustrated History by Geoffrey C. Ward
This book about key figures in the fight for women's suffrage in the U.S. is based on a documentary film by Ken Burns and Paul Barnes. 


Love, Fiercely: a Gilded Age Romance by Jean Zimmerman
This is the love story of a beautiful heiress and wealthy young architect who had their portrait painted by John Singer Sargent. In spite of their wealth, the couple worked as reformers for New York’s poor and powerless. 


And the Spirit Moved Them: the Last Radical History of America’s First Feminists by Helen Lakelly Hunt
Black and white women joined together at the 1837 Anti-Slavery Convention of American women. They believed that it was their God-given duty to challenge both slavery and patriarchy. 


Dead Feminists: Historic Heroines in Living Color by Chandler O’ Leary and Jessica Spring
This informative book provides both beautiful illustrations and brief biographies of 27 women who changed the world. 


Harriet and Isabella by Patricia O’Brien
A novel of historical fiction that explores the rift between the two sisters: Harriet Beecher Stowe and Isabella Beecher Hooker. This rift was caused by Henry Ward Beecher’s scandalous trial for adultery. Harriet Beecher Stowe wrote 
Uncle Tom’s Cabin and Isabella Beecher Hooker was a leading figure in the suffragist movement.   
 
Join us for a book discussion at the National Portrait Gallery on May 21 at 5:30 p.m.