Beyond Susan Cain's "Quiet"

Read FeedSouthwest Library

Beyond Susan Cain's "Quiet"

Books for introverts

With the holiday season wrapping up, us introverts sure are glad the parties are about over. Now, it’s finally time to take advantage of the winter weather and snuggle up with a book or ten. In the list below, find stories with which to commiserate, instruction on making the most of your introverted tendencies, and ideas on how to manage in a world built for our extroverted and ambiverted counterparts. While Susan Cain’s popular Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking is a great starting point, here are ten more books to read on the topic.

Sorry I’m Late, I Didn’t Want to Come: One Introvert’s Year of Saying Yes by Jessica Pan
Like Shonda Rhimes’s Year of Yes, Sorry I’m Late documents one writer’s journey of replacing "no" with "yes." When she realized how bleak her life had become, Jessica Pan made a plan to enliven and enrich herself by playing the role of an extrovert for a year. Find out how this worked for her, the regrets she had, and what she learned from the experience. 

Quiet Girl in a Noisy World: An Introvert’s Story by Debbie Tung
In this adorable series of comics by the same author of Book Love, author and illustrator Debbie Tung makes her reader say “That’s me!” and “So relatable!” with each turn of the page. With vignettes that emanate warmth and understanding, Quiet Girl shows what it’s like to live with a cocktail made of introversion and social anxiety, lamenting the lower parts and celebrating the positives. 

The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl by Issa Rae
With a life of fame thanks to YouTube and her popular Awkward Black Girl series, Issa Rae -- who has only become better known s
ince this book's 2015 release thanks to her HBO show Insecure and appearances in films including Little -- might not seem like the usual candidate for introversion. However, in this collection of essays, Rae explores her experiences as a self-described introvert and how it contributes to her awkward interactions in the world. Great for fans of Mindy Kaling’s and Amy Poehler’s books, The Misadventures of Awkward Black Girl can help any introvert -- no matter how awkward they feel -- recognize that they are not alone in the world.

The Introvert’s Way: Living a Quiet Life in a Noisy World by Sophia Dembling
A quick read for the busy introvert, The Introvert’s Way, much like Susan Cain’s Quiet, depicts the ways in which introverts can harness their inclinations to best move through a world built for extroverts. Dembling gets at the differences between shyness and introversion, antisocial-ness and introversion, and more, helping readers to better understand themselves and the introverts they love. 

On Being an Introvert or Highly Sensitive Person: A Guide to Boundaries, Joy, and Meaning by Ilse Sand
Recognizing the oft-paired introversion and sensitivity, Sand examines the connection between the two traits, how the characteristics develop, and what -- if anything -- to do about having those features in your personality. Highly relatable and a piece that articulates much of what is difficult to put into words when it comes to introversion, On Being an Introvert packs a good deal of information into its brief text.

The Introvert Advantage: How to Thrive in an Extrovert World by Marti Olsen Laney
An older text, The Introvert Advantage still has its uses and relevancy in our world today. Laney helps readers identify their introversion and then laud the positive qualities that tend to appear with an introverted personality. In addition to this optimistic perspective, Laney provides tips on maximizing the impact of your introverted self in the face of some of the challenges being introverted poses.

The Irresistible Introvert: Harness the Power of Quiet Charisma in a Loud World by Michaela Chung
Described as a “manifesto,” The Irresistible Introvert helps readers along to, as the old title goes, make friends and influence people. Chung dismisses the myth that only extroverts can be charismatic, showing how introverts can manage just as well in their own ways. With tips on energy conservation, communication, and more, The Irresistible Introvert is an invaluable guide for living as an introvert in the extrovert world.

Taking the Work out of Networking: An Introvert’s Guide to Making Connections that Count by Karen Wickre
Networking is perhaps one of the most dreaded activities for the introvert. But author Karen Wickre, in Taking the Work out of Networking, makes it easy for any introvert. Rather than rejecting an introvert’s natural inclination, Wickre embraces the state, and uses it to strategically network with success. With guidance on taking advantage of your introversion, Wickre offers a unique take on networking as an introvert in which the reader never has to fake it.

The Introvert Entrepreneur: Amplify Your Strengths and Create Success on Your Own Terms by Beth L. Buelow
Although many of us may believe that extroversion is a prerequisite to being an entrepreneur, Beth Buelow proves otherwise with The Introvert Entrepreneur. Buelow argues that many of the natural traits of an introvert are, in fact, ideal for roles of leadership in the entrepreneurial world, and can be harnessed for great success in business. Using a series of interviews to inform the text, The Introvert Entrepreneur is useful for any reader trying to make the most of their introversion, whether they’re looking to start a business or just to exist happily and healthily.

Introverted Mom: Your Guide to More Calm, Less Guilt, and Quiet Joy by Jamie C. Martin
Introverted Mom first acknowledges that motherhood itself is a difficult and trying journey. From there, Jamie C. Martin attempts to erase the stigma of introversion in mothers, bring practical suggestions to the table, and reassure the introverted mothers among us that there is nothing wrong with them. Martin raises up those who struggle as introverted parents with anecdotes both from her own life and from other introverted moms.

Looking for additional titles on this topic? Check out a comparable guide by fellow Read Feed-er LaToya R.