Louisa May Alcott

Read Feed

Louisa May Alcott

For When You've Read Little Women 50 Times

Louisa May Alcott’s timeless, classic novel about four sisters coming of age during the Civil War has endured for over 150 years now. Little Women itself has been adapted to film, to graphic novel, reimagined in a modern setting, and inverted in new ways. That has inspired many to explore the other stories and novels of the beloved author, who never imagined she would become known as a children’s author. 

If you loved the writing of Little Women, you’ll love reading more by the author who has shaped generations of women and writers and learning more about her life.  

Here are six great books by and about Louisa May Alcott to check out today. 

Little Men by Louisa May Alcott
The story of Little Women continues after standing under the umbrella, and in this, the third book is the quarter of Little Women-related books,  we see and meet the students of Jo’s Plumfield School and follow them on their adventures! This is a great read for people who love Little Women but who also want to meet new characters created by Alcott. 

Hospital Sketches by Louisa May Alcott
While Alcott is perhaps best known for her fiction, this non-fiction recounting of her time working is an eye-opening account of the author’s own experiences. Anyone who’s interested in the Civil War must read this, but anyone with any interest in medical history or Alcott’s life will also learn a lot.  

Eight Cousins by Louisa May Alcott
Fans of Little Women will love Eight Cousins, another family-centric story. In it, we meet Rose the only girl born to her large family. Cue the adventures of a plucky 19th century girl trying to handle being surrounded by seven male cousins and you’ve got a new family adventure to fall in love with. 

A Modern Cinderella: And Other Stories by Louisa May Alcott
Every author should have their own take on the fairy tales and fables we know and love, and in this collection, Alcott reimagines tales such as Cinderella and more. There are only four stories in this collection, so it is a quick read that will make you want to seek out even more Alcott!

Behind a Mask by Louisa May Alcott
If you’ve seen Gerwig’s adaptation of Little Women, you know that Alcott was writing darker, mysterious tales before she turned to family stories, and Behind a Mask is a great example of that. In this work, she explores gender, class, and the dynamics between a governess and the family she works for. You’ll definitely want to learn about the OTHER kind of books Alcott wrote in her lifetime. 

Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy by Anne Boyd Rioux
Fans of Little Women and Alcott in general will be blown away by this literary exploration of the writing and publication of Little Women and how it has changed generations of women. From the publishing house to the schoolyard to the home, this book by Anne Boyd Rioux explores how the four March sisters have been portrayed throughout history, why each generation wants their own adaptation of the story and how Alcott herself is represented in those pages.