Agatha and Clive

Shepherd Park/Juanita E. Thornton Library

Agatha and Clive

Classic Literary Anniversaries

This month, Agatha Christie and Clive S. (C.S.) Lewis published two of their best known novels. Both of their respective novels introduced classic characters and their later novels were adapted as movies or a television series. You can check out and download these two titles from the library system.

The Mysterious Affair at Styles by Agatha Christie
One morning, a resident is found dead at Styles Court in the English countryside. Captain Arthur Hastings, who's staying with the family, finds his old friend Hercule Poirot. The native Belgian accepts the case. Police Chief Inspector Japp joins the investigation. Readers follow Poirot on his first investigation and reveals the culprit. First published in 1920, the novel has remained a classic mystery. Christie continued to write more novels about Hercule Poirot; the final one Curtain was published in 1975.

The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C.S. (Clive Staples) Lewis
During World War II, four British siblings are sent to live in the countryside. Their guardian is a professor who lets the Pevensie children explore and play around his home as they wish. The youngest, Lucy, hides in a wardrobe during a game of hide and seek and finds herself in a magical world called Narnia. Her three siblings, Peter, Susan, and Edmund, follow. Together they defeat the White Witch and meet a mysterious lion named Aslan. First published in 1950, the novel remains a children's classic. Lewis wrote six more novels in the series ending with The Last Battle in 1956.

~Elisa Babel, Adult Librarian