General Nonfiction Pulitzer Prize Winners

Lamond-Riggs/Lillian J. Huff Library

General Nonfiction Pulitzer Prize Winners

The Pulitzer Prize has been honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917.

Read these nonfiction prize winners:

  • Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II by Douglas A. Blackmon (2009)
  • The Years of Extermination: Nazi Germany and the Jews, 1939-1945 by Saul Friedländer (2008)
  • The Looming Tower: Al-Qaeda and the Road to 9/11 by Lawrence Wright (2007)
  • Imperial Reckoning: The Untold Story of Britain's Gulag in Kenya by Caroline Elkins (2006)
  • Ghost Wars by Steve Coll (2005)
  • Gulag: A History by Anne Applebaum (2004)
  • "A Problem From Hell:" America and the Age of Genocide by Samantha Power (2003)
  • Carry Me Home: Birmingham, Alabama, the Climactic Battle of the Civil Rights Revolution by Diane McWhorter (2002)
  • Hirohito and the Making of Modern Japan by Herbert P. Bix (2001)
  • Embracing Defeat: Japan in the Wake of World War II by John W. Dower (2000)

Find these titles in the library catalog. Place a hold to have a book delivered to the library nearest you.

For more past winners and nominees, visit the Pulitzer Prize Website.