Northeast
Neighborhood Library

Takeout service available Monday through Friday, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. and 3 to 7 p.m. Closed from 2 to 3 p.m.every day for sanitizing.
Afternoon Freewrite

Afternoon Freewrite

Express Yourself

Sometimes the best way to express yourself is with a nice cup of coffee, a pen, some paper and some good ole' writing. Starting September 16, join the Northeast Neighborhood Library for an "Afternoon Freewrite." Here, you will have the opportunity to let your thoughts and ideas flow freely...onto the page, of course.   This program is held every Wednesday from 1-2:30 p.m., in the conference room on the mezzanine level.

Bark George

Phonological Awareness

Early Literacy tips for parents and caretakers of young children

Researchers say that there are six skills that are important for children to learn before they are ready to read:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Summer Reading Logo

Summer Reading Block Party

Calling all heroes!

We’ve come to the end of our summer reading program, so let’s party! A block party, that is. Join us on Sunday, Aug. 30 2-5 pm for fun activities and stories and to claim your summer reading prizes! We’ll be set up outside of the library on 7th Street NE between D Street NE and the alley.  Event line up: Get your face painted with cool designs Choose from options of balloon twisting designs Watch guest master storyteller Arianna Ross perform on the patio area 3-4 p.m. Make hero-themed crafts

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

Letter Knowledge

Early Literacy tips for parents and caretakers of young children

Researchers say that there are six skills that are important for children to learn before they are ready to read:

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

Fiction Fanatics Book Club

July's book: "The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P." by Adelle Waldman

For July the Fiction Fanatics Book Club is reading The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. by Adelle Waldman.

Illustrated multicolored turtles in neat lines and rows

I Spy Read-Alikes

Riddles, rhymes, and puzzles, oh my!

I spy with my little eye… an awesome group of books! The I Spy series is the much-loved classic by Jean Marzollo that compels younger readers to pour over detailed photographs to find objects in riddles and rhymes. And while the library has many I Spy books to fit your fancy, if you want to challenge your scavenger skills try these read-alikes.

Mac and Cheese Rats

Meet Our Library Pets!

Macaroni and Cheese

On May 7, the Northeast Neighborhood Library family gained two new members: The Friends of Northeast Library have been kind and generous enough to sponsor our purchase and care of two female Dumbo Rats! Over the course of one week, library visitors were able to submit name entries to be considered for our naming contest. By the end of the submission period, we had received 93 pairs of names for the rat sisters. It was a huge and difficult task picking only five pairs to go on our official ballot!

The Gruffalo

Vocabulary Skills

Early Literacy tips for parents and caretakers of young children

Researchers say that there are six skills that are important for children to learn before they are ready to read:

The Napping House

Say it Again!

Picture books with repeated phrases

Early Literacy Skills are competencies that children need to develop before they begin reading and writing.* Choosing books to read with your child that have a repetitive phrase can aid in the development of many of the early literacy skills that children need in order to be ready to read:  Print Motivation Print Awareness Narrative Skills Vocabulary Letter Knowledge

Pages