Story Tags

Poetry Reading

#DCPoetryClub on Twitter for National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month, we will meet on Twitter on Tuesday afternoons at 2 p.m. to share and discuss our favorite poems. Tweet a link to a favorite published poem, not written by you, and include #DCPoetryClub and @dcpl. Be ready to read and comment on the other poems shared.

With the fire on high

Elizabeth Acevedo Recommends

A DC Reads List

For the special edition of DC Reads, we have enlisted a special Read Feed from the author herself! Recommended by Elizabeth Acevedo, here are books, songs, music and recipes to enjoy after you have read With the Fire on High. Some of these are not in the Library, but we wanted to share them all! Books Once you have read With the Fire on High, here are three more delicious reads.

With the fire on high

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

YA Read-Alikes for DCReads

If you are reading With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo for our special edition of DC Reads, you will probably want some suggestions for what to read next. For more stories of courageous young people and delicious food, here are a few more YA titles suggested by our reader's advisory database NoveList.

DC Punk Archive Logo

The DC Punk Archive Turns 5!

The DC Punk Archive turns 5 this year!

Oral History Collaborative

Buzzard Point Oral History Project

The Buzzard Point Oral History Project is now available on Dig DC, our web portal for selected digitized and born-digital items from DC Public Library Special Collections. 

Preservation in Action

Preservation in Action 2019

In late June, the American Library Association's Annual Conference & Exhibition took place here in Washington, DC. Librarians from all over came to hear speakers present, learn from each other, and explore the city and its library services.

Pride Day Article from the 1975 edition of the Washington Blade

June is Pride Month

Pride Month Happenings in Special Collections

Under-Uprising: Stonewall 50 at Dupont Underground

Cover for Lions & Liars

Middle School is Tough

Books to Get Through It

Middle School can be brutal. Navigating bullies, teachers and making friends can be a dangerous endeavor. Luckily, there are lots of books with humor and class about surviving this difficult period in life. Lions & Liars by Kate Beasley

Image of Like Water for Chocolate book cover

DC Reads: Adult Title Read-a-likes

More to savor after "With the Fire on High"

This year’s DC Reads book, With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo, follows high schooler and teen mom Emoni Santiago through senior year, as she balances school, work, Babygirl -- and figuring out her future.

March DC Public Library Board of Trustees Meeting Postponed

The DC Public Library announced today the DC Public Library Board of Trustees meeting scheduled for March 25, 2020 has been postponed due to the adjustment of the District of Columbia’s operating status. On Friday, March 20, to mitigate the spread of the coronavirus (COVID-19), Mayor Muriel Bowser issued Mayor’s Order 2020-051: Prohibition on Mass Gatherings During Public Health Emergency - Coronavirus (COVID-19).

Pages