Story Tags

Dying to Meet You by Kate Klise and M. Sarah Klise

Dear Reader

Children's Chapter Books Told Through Letters

As a kid, I was always writing notes to my friends and seeking out pen pals. To this day, I still love to send (and get!) letters in the mail. Much like letters in real life, epistolary novels (or stories told through letters, journal entries, and other documents) give readers the chance to hear someone else's thoughts and feelings in a format that feels both personal and familiar. If you're a child, parent, or kid-at-heart who's looking for a chapter book with an interesting structure and relatable characters, then try one of these novels told through letters:

Image of book cover for "Sally Ride : a photobiography of America's pioneering woman in space"

Sally Ride: Shoot for the Stars

Featuring Mary Ann Jung of History Alive!

In 1983 aboard the space shuttle Challenger, Dr. Sally Ride became America's first female astronaut. What was it like to be our first woman in space?  How do you eat, sleep, and work in zero gravity?  

Fleece hats

Holiday Crafts

Friday, December 18 at 4 p.m.

Come and join us for special Holiday crafts on Friday, December 18, at 4 p.m. Children will decorate their own fleece winter hat or scarf and explore their artistic side by making pop-up holiday cards. They will also learn how to make kirigami greeting cards. There will be a variety of books on display to inspire them. The books will be available for check out. Come and join the fun and make something that will keep you warm over the winter season.

French story time

French Story Time

Thursdays at 4 p.m.

French Story Time is for children of all ages. This program includes songs, music, and motion and is very interactive. Children have the opportunity to learn French songs, practice their French, and connect words with motion, as well as enjoy stories. Come and join us every Thursday at 4 p.m.

Cover of This Place Has No Atmosphere shows a girl wearing '80s fashion looking at the Earth from the moon.

Books for '80s Kids to Share With the Kids in Their Lives

Ah, the 1980s--era of Rainbow Brite, the Electric Company, and the after-school special. Ronald Reagan was our president, the Cold War was still on, and computers were just beginning to be more than a curiosity to the average person.  In children's literature, the '80s sometimes get a bad rap for being the era of the "problem novel"; basically, an after-school special in book form.  Still, some pretty great books were published during that decade.

Elephant and Piggie

Beginner Reader Books

Learning to read is a daunting task. Luckily the library offers a wide selection of easy-to-read books called Easy Readers. The tricky part is finding a book that is both interesting to your child and simple enough for them to read while still challenging them. The levels assigned by publishers can be a good place to start but, it also can be misleading since every book publisher uses different standards for assigning levels. Kids will find Easy Readers featuring their favorite characters without any problem.

Back to school crafts

Back to School Crafts

Join us after school on Friday, Sept. 25

Please join us at the Cleveland Park Library for Back to School Arts and Crafts on Friday, September 25, at 4 p,m. Children ages 4 to 12 and their caregivers are welcome. The children will be making pen and pencil holders, iPad, Kindle, Nook and iPhone sleeves. All supplies will be provided. Let's have fun crafting at the library and get ready for the new school year!  

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Countdown

Historical Home Runs

Engaging middle grade historical fiction

A lot of people are hesitant to pick up a book if it is labeled historical fiction. What they don't realize is that historical fiction is not that different from the sometimes more "glamorous" fantasy novels -- both are set in a world different from the one we know today. I find exploring different worlds, whether they are fantastical or historical, extremely interesting which is why I love both genres. What follows is a very abbreviated list of some of my favorite historical fiction titles which I believe would interest even the most reluctant historian.

Along a Long Road

Books for Beginner Bike Lovers

Picture books about bikes and biking

There is something intrinsically appealing about bike books. Bikes remind me of warm sunny days and the wonderful feeling of freedom and exploration. I think I share that trait with most of the younger population. What little kid doesn't like to go out and ride their bike? Finding a good book about bikes and bike riding can be a great way to draw in active reluctant readers as well as established book lovers. They can also be useful for teaching kids how to ride bikes and building confidence for beginner riders. Here are a few that I have enjoyed:

Pages