Story Tags

Elephant and Piggie

Beginner Reader Books

Learning to read is a daunting task. Luckily the library offers a wide selection of easy-to-read books called Easy Readers. The tricky part is finding a book that is both interesting to your child and simple enough for them to read while still challenging them. The levels assigned by publishers can be a good place to start but, it also can be misleading since every book publisher uses different standards for assigning levels. Kids will find Easy Readers featuring their favorite characters without any problem.

Back to school crafts

Back to School Crafts

Join us after school on Friday, Sept. 25

Please join us at the Cleveland Park Library for Back to School Arts and Crafts on Friday, September 25, at 4 p,m. Children ages 4 to 12 and their caregivers are welcome. The children will be making pen and pencil holders, iPad, Kindle, Nook and iPhone sleeves. All supplies will be provided. Let's have fun crafting at the library and get ready for the new school year!  

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Countdown

Historical Home Runs

Engaging middle grade historical fiction

A lot of people are hesitant to pick up a book if it is labeled historical fiction. What they don't realize is that historical fiction is not that different from the sometimes more "glamorous" fantasy novels -- both are set in a world different from the one we know today. I find exploring different worlds, whether they are fantastical or historical, extremely interesting which is why I love both genres. What follows is a very abbreviated list of some of my favorite historical fiction titles which I believe would interest even the most reluctant historian.

Along a Long Road

Books for Beginner Bike Lovers

Picture books about bikes and biking

There is something intrinsically appealing about bike books. Bikes remind me of warm sunny days and the wonderful feeling of freedom and exploration. I think I share that trait with most of the younger population. What little kid doesn't like to go out and ride their bike? Finding a good book about bikes and bike riding can be a great way to draw in active reluctant readers as well as established book lovers. They can also be useful for teaching kids how to ride bikes and building confidence for beginner riders. Here are a few that I have enjoyed:

The Goose Girl

Fairy Tales Your Way

Updated fairy tales for middle grade readers

Because myths and fairy tales are so well known, they can make a great backdrop for an author to play with story. There are a lot of great children's books that take a common story as the base, but where the author makes the tale their own. Here are some of my favorites:

Pages