Story Tags

Photo of Charlie the PAL dog

Meet Charlie!

A Mt. Pleasant Library Volunteer

Charlie is our newest PAL volunteer and will visit the Mt Pleasant Neighborhood Library when his schedule permits.   Here are 10 fun facts about Charlie:   1. Charlie is a rescue dog. 2. Charlie was born in 2011. 3. Charlie is super fast and loves to run! 4. Charlie loves to give kisses.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Anne of Green Gbles

Children's Books You Should Re-read As an Adult

What will you find the second time around?

I have been re-reading some of my favorite books from my childhood recently, and I am amazed to find that I still relate to a lot of the books I read as a child.  Reading a book I originally read in elementary or middle school is a unique experience—I notice different things than I did  as a child and sometimes, when I come across a particularly memorable passage, I get a wave of nostalgia. Here is a list of classic children’s books to get you started; hopefully this list will remind you of an old favorite and spark some memories of your own!

Girl wearing her superhero cape

Summer Heroes Tuesdays

Superhero capes at the Library!

During this week's Summer Heroes program, kids got together and showed off one of the best superpowers of all -- their creativity!

Can You Make a Scary Face?

Silly Billy Picture Books

Get Your giggles on

While there are lots of picture books - both fiction and nonfiction - that teach children the ABCs, 123s, or valuable life lessons, here are some picture books that do nothing of the sort. They're just silly books that will make you and your little ones laugh so hard, your ribs will hurt. Many of them are genuinely clever, and others are just goofy. 

heroheroine

How To Be A Hero: The Sequel!

(Summer Reading Program Series)

"How to Be a Hero: The Sequel" is a fun storytelling, reading, writing and drawing program for our Summer Readers, ages 6 - 9.   Let’s explore the continuing adventures of those superhero “alter egos” and bring the adventures to an exciting end! This program can count towards 1 hour (= 4 colored masks) of Summer Reading credit!

Maker Camp

Maker Camp

Mini experiments and summer projects for kids

Parklands-Turner will be doing fun and exciting experiments and projects. Children and teens are invited to join us as we create, experiment and design.                                                                                   July 11 - August 3 Tuesday’s & Wednesday’s: 1 p.m. - 3 p.m. for ages 7-19

The Watermelon Seed

Giggle-Inducing Books

Have some fun with your little one

Sharing books with your little one can be full of fun, smiles and giggles. Check out one of these books and find out how much fun storytime can be!

Countdown

Historical Home Runs

Engaging middle grade historical fiction

A lot of people are hesitant to pick up a book if it is labeled historical fiction. What they don't realize is that historical fiction is not that different from the sometimes more "glamorous" fantasy novels -- both are set in a world different from the one we know today. I find exploring different worlds, whether they are fantastical or historical, extremely interesting which is why I love both genres. What follows is a very abbreviated list of some of my favorite historical fiction titles which I believe would interest even the most reluctant historian.

Photo of Scribble bot

The Google Maker Camp is Almost Here!

Who doesn't like science?

Recently, some of the Petworth Library staff attended training at our main branch, Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Library, in order to prepare for the Google Maker Camp. By now, hopefully you have heard about the library's participation in this wonderful program.

Pages