Story Tags

Playing Mario MaKey MaKey

DC Public Library Visits the Gamer Family Festival

On Saturday, Aug. 15, Librarians Cameron and Kim visited the Smithsonian American Art Museum for the Gamer Family Festival, a whole day inspired by games in the museum’s collection. Not to be out done by event partners

Do the Math: Secrets, Lies, and Algebra

Eighth-Grade Math Novels?

Books that make math fun for middle-schoolers

The library got a request this morning via Twitter: We've gotta admit this is a slightly unusual -- and incredibly specific request. But our amazing Library staff are up to the task! Here's what awesome Children's Librarian Annie Lyon came up with:

Photo of Charlie the PAL dog

Meet Charlie!

A Mt. Pleasant Library Volunteer

Charlie is our newest PAL volunteer and will visit the Mt Pleasant Neighborhood Library when his schedule permits.   Here are 10 fun facts about Charlie:   1. Charlie is a rescue dog. 2. Charlie was born in 2011. 3. Charlie is super fast and loves to run! 4. Charlie loves to give kisses.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Anne of Green Gbles

Children's Books You Should Re-read As an Adult

What will you find the second time around?

I have been re-reading some of my favorite books from my childhood recently, and I am amazed to find that I still relate to a lot of the books I read as a child.  Reading a book I originally read in elementary or middle school is a unique experience—I notice different things than I did  as a child and sometimes, when I come across a particularly memorable passage, I get a wave of nostalgia. Here is a list of classic children’s books to get you started; hopefully this list will remind you of an old favorite and spark some memories of your own!

Girl wearing her superhero cape

Summer Heroes Tuesdays

Superhero capes at the Library!

During this week's Summer Heroes program, kids got together and showed off one of the best superpowers of all -- their creativity!

Can You Make a Scary Face?

Silly Billy Picture Books

Get Your giggles on

While there are lots of picture books - both fiction and nonfiction - that teach children the ABCs, 123s, or valuable life lessons, here are some picture books that do nothing of the sort. They're just silly books that will make you and your little ones laugh so hard, your ribs will hurt. Many of them are genuinely clever, and others are just goofy. 

heroheroine

How To Be A Hero: The Sequel!

(Summer Reading Program Series)

"How to Be a Hero: The Sequel" is a fun storytelling, reading, writing and drawing program for our Summer Readers, ages 6 - 9.   Let’s explore the continuing adventures of those superhero “alter egos” and bring the adventures to an exciting end! This program can count towards 1 hour (= 4 colored masks) of Summer Reading credit!

Maker Camp

Maker Camp

Mini experiments and summer projects for kids

Parklands-Turner will be doing fun and exciting experiments and projects. Children and teens are invited to join us as we create, experiment and design.                                                                                   July 11 - August 3 Tuesday’s & Wednesday’s: 1 p.m. - 3 p.m. for ages 7-19

The Watermelon Seed

Giggle-Inducing Books

Have some fun with your little one

Sharing books with your little one can be full of fun, smiles and giggles. Check out one of these books and find out how much fun storytime can be!

Pages