Story Tags

Cover of Midnight Riot by Ben Aaronovitch shows a map of London with parts outlined in red

Fantasy for Adults: Beyond the Bestsellers

Fantasy is big in pop culture these days.

Image of book cover for "The Curious Life of Benjamin Button"

Book Club Pick 'o the Month

"The Curious Case of Benjamin Button"

The West End Fiction Book Club will meet Tuesday, September 22, at 12:30 p.m. to discuss "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" by F.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

book cover for Flights, Chimes, and Mysterious Times by Emma Trevayne

Complete in One Volume

Outstanding stand-alone fantasies for tweens and their adults

It all started with the Chronicles of Narnia. Or maybe it started with the 12 Wonderful Wizard of Oz sequels that L. Frank Baum wrote to meet the immense popular demand for more Oz stories.

Feed by Mira Grant

Adult Books for Teens

For when you've read through the entire YA section

So you’ve read your way through the YA section at your library, and you’re at a lost at what to do next. The fiction shelves seem daunting, but here are some suggestions to get you started.   Feed by Mira Grant

magicians

Favorite Fantasy Books

Go on a quest in a magical land

Fantasy books often feature magical beings such as elves, dragons, fairies, and other creatures that possess magical abilities, a character that is on a quest, and a portal to an alternate world or dimension. Try these and lose yourself in another world. The Magicians: A Novel by Lev Grossman

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Magical Stories for Former English Majors

For those who find complex fiction and footnotes a pleasure, not a chore!

Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke

Cry Wolf book cover

A Date with the Supernatural

Paranormal Romance Recommendations from Melissa N.

I’m often asked what I read and the answer is: almost everything. However, if you look at my list of books for any given year, paranormal romance would almost certainly outnumber other genres.  Something about the idea of supernatural creatures having the same relationship issues as regular humans appeals to me. And when you add in the additional problems of a supernatural community, I’m drawn back to this genre over and over.  If you’re looking to dip your toes into the paranormal romance world, here are a few that I’ve read and enjoyed.

Tam Lin

Fairy Tales - Revised

Look at fairy tales in a new light

My favorite class in college was called "Revisioning the Classics." In this class, we read classic texts like Hamlet and Antigone, and then modern retellings like

Pages