Story Tags

Paper Bag Princess Book Cover

Princess Books That Are A Little Bit Different

Love them or hate them, fictional princesses are a popular theme that has been around for some time. From the Grimm's fairy tales to the Disney princesses, countless princess stories have been told.

Elephant and Piggie

Beginner Reader Books

Learning to read is a daunting task. Luckily the library offers a wide selection of easy-to-read books called Easy Readers. The tricky part is finding a book that is both interesting to your child and simple enough for them to read while still challenging them. The levels assigned by publishers can be a good place to start but, it also can be misleading since every book publisher uses different standards for assigning levels. Kids will find Easy Readers featuring their favorite characters without any problem.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Anne of Green Gbles

Children's Books You Should Re-read As an Adult

What will you find the second time around?

I have been re-reading some of my favorite books from my childhood recently, and I am amazed to find that I still relate to a lot of the books I read as a child.  Reading a book I originally read in elementary or middle school is a unique experience—I notice different things than I did  as a child and sometimes, when I come across a particularly memorable passage, I get a wave of nostalgia. Here is a list of classic children’s books to get you started; hopefully this list will remind you of an old favorite and spark some memories of your own!

eatpraylove book cover

Read This NOT That!

Overrated books with a much better alternative

Ever read a book that people made such a big deal over only to be disappointed? Maybe you loved the genre or the story, but the delivery just wasn't good enough. Check out these popular (perhaps overrated) books with a better alternative.

book cover for Flights, Chimes, and Mysterious Times by Emma Trevayne

Complete in One Volume

Outstanding stand-alone fantasies for tweens and their adults

It all started with the Chronicles of Narnia. Or maybe it started with the 12 Wonderful Wizard of Oz sequels that L. Frank Baum wrote to meet the immense popular demand for more Oz stories.

Me & Dog

Picture Books About Pets

How Children and Pets Relate to Each Other

These charming picture books for children feature a wide variety of pets: dogs, a rabbit, a snake, a sloth, a horse, a bird, a woolly mammoth, a saber-toothed tiger, and a dodo bird. The books also deal with following aspects of pet ownership: picking out a pet, taking good care of your pet, being aware of what your pet needs, and becoming a responsible pet owner. 

The Most Magnificent Thing book cover

School May Be Out, But Science Is Still Very In!

Picture Books that Explore the World of Science

This summer, DC Public Library will feature many different science related programs to learn from and enjoy. There is the Science in the Summer program, which is a free science program for elementary school children.

Countdown

Historical Home Runs

Engaging middle grade historical fiction

A lot of people are hesitant to pick up a book if it is labeled historical fiction. What they don't realize is that historical fiction is not that different from the sometimes more "glamorous" fantasy novels -- both are set in a world different from the one we know today. I find exploring different worlds, whether they are fantastical or historical, extremely interesting which is why I love both genres. What follows is a very abbreviated list of some of my favorite historical fiction titles which I believe would interest even the most reluctant historian.

Pages