Story Tags

tuff topix boox

November's Tough Topic--Adoption

A specially curated selection of materials to facilitate family discussion

November is National Adoption Month! Below I've listed several age-appropriate books that tackle the sometimes tough topic of adoption in interesting ways. Try setting aside 25 minutes with your children to read and have ongoing discussions of these and other topical books. As always, feel free to click the book titles of choice in order to place a hold on each one. You will receive an email when your requested books are available at the library for pick up!

antibully1

October's Tough Topic: Anti-Bullying

A specially curated selection of materials to facilitate family discussions.

First introduced two years ago by Ms. Tammeric, "Tough Topics" is a monthly series of carefully curated materials covering a specific difficult theme in order to prompt and facilitate important family discussions. All children deserve to be happy, healthy, secure and care-free as they live and learn. However, as life would have it, issues and challenges inevitably come our way and despite our best protective efforts children are not immune to experiencing them as well.

Cover of This Place Has No Atmosphere shows a girl wearing '80s fashion looking at the Earth from the moon.

Books for '80s Kids to Share With the Kids in Their Lives

Ah, the 1980s--era of Rainbow Brite, the Electric Company, and the after-school special. Ronald Reagan was our president, the Cold War was still on, and computers were just beginning to be more than a curiosity to the average person.  In children's literature, the '80s sometimes get a bad rap for being the era of the "problem novel"; basically, an after-school special in book form.  Still, some pretty great books were published during that decade.

draguni

Dragons and Unicorns and Monsters...Oh My!

(Stories and Activities for Fantasy Fankids)

Calling all fantasy fankids ages 5 - 9, join us on Monday, October 19 at 4 p.m. The stories, basic crafts and activity pages will feature mythical creatures--some beautiful, some bizarre... A curated selection of age-appropriate books will also be available for checkout.

Paper Bag Princess Book Cover

Princess Books That Are A Little Bit Different

Love them or hate them, fictional princesses are a popular theme that has been around for some time. From the Grimm's fairy tales to the Disney princesses, countless princess stories have been told.

Elephant and Piggie

Beginner Reader Books

Learning to read is a daunting task. Luckily the library offers a wide selection of easy-to-read books called Easy Readers. The tricky part is finding a book that is both interesting to your child and simple enough for them to read while still challenging them. The levels assigned by publishers can be a good place to start but, it also can be misleading since every book publisher uses different standards for assigning levels. Kids will find Easy Readers featuring their favorite characters without any problem.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Anne of Green Gbles

Children's Books You Should Re-read As an Adult

What will you find the second time around?

I have been re-reading some of my favorite books from my childhood recently, and I am amazed to find that I still relate to a lot of the books I read as a child.  Reading a book I originally read in elementary or middle school is a unique experience—I notice different things than I did  as a child and sometimes, when I come across a particularly memorable passage, I get a wave of nostalgia. Here is a list of classic children’s books to get you started; hopefully this list will remind you of an old favorite and spark some memories of your own!

eatpraylove book cover

Read This NOT That!

Overrated books with a much better alternative

Ever read a book that people made such a big deal over only to be disappointed? Maybe you loved the genre or the story, but the delivery just wasn't good enough. Check out these popular (perhaps overrated) books with a better alternative.

Pages