Story Tags

Coretta Scott King Medal

Coretta Scott King Award Challenge at Southeast

Celebrate the legacy

Help Southeast Library celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Coretta Scott King Awards

Summer Challenge 2018

Summer Challenge 2018

Read 20 minutes a day. Every day. (June 1 - Aug. 31)

Take the DC Public Library Summer Challenge Kids, teens and adults can win prizes for reading this summer by participating in the 2018 DC Public Library Summer Challenge.  Reading just 20 minutes each day keeps your mind active and helps you stay engaged over the summer. Every 20 minutes you read or every library event you attend brings you closer to earning great prizes like free food from Chipotle and tickets to Washington Nationals baseball games.

Read Feed

Bored with your reading options? Feel like you've read all there is to read of a particular subject? DC Public Library is here to help. Click here to find personalized recommendations and online book clubs, or scroll down for staff-curated readings lists.

Jason Reynolds' Grab the Mic:Tell Your Story

Write.Right.Rite - New Video Series to Jump Start Your Creativity

Have you always wanted to write? If so, check out Jason Reynolds' Grab the Mic:Tell Your Story activities to jump start your creativity.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Current Favorite YA Fantasy Books!

Five binge worthy fantasy books!

I think that fantasy novels are a great way to distract yourself from stress, life, or whatever it is you would like to avoid. They also allow you to completely immerse yourself into a world that is different than your own. Allowing you to pretend to be a warrior, a witch, or even a demon. The five books discussed here are the first books in series. So, if you enjoy the series for the world-building, the characters, the action, the romance, or the drama, you can continue to read more books that each author has published in the worlds. 

Look both ways: a tale told in ten blocks

Spotlight on Jason Reynolds

Are you interested in learning how to write? If so, you might be interested in the Grab the Mic initiative presented by Jason Reynolds at the Library of Congress. In this series, Jason Reynolds will talk to young people directly and present various activities to help build your creativity.

Poems of Rumi

Poetry with Soul (eBooks & Audiobooks)

It's National Poetry Month!! So, I decided to gather a list of poetry-inspired books in celebration of one of my favorite genres! Poetry has the ability to transcend reality, evoke thoughts pertaining to age-old questions, and to provide a sense of comfort. As we all know, the world is presently responding to the harsh realities of COVID-19,  leaving communities quarantined. As we redefine our daily routines, here's a list of poetry-inspired books to assist with reflection, dreaming, grounding, etc.

With the fire on high

Elizabeth Acevedo Recommends

A DC Reads List

For the special edition of DC Reads, we have enlisted a special Read Feed from the author herself! Recommended by Elizabeth Acevedo, here are books, songs, music and recipes to enjoy after you have read With the Fire on High. Some of these are not in the Library, but we wanted to share them all! Books Once you have read With the Fire on High, here are three more delicious reads.

With the fire on high

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

YA Read-Alikes for DCReads

If you are reading With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo for our special edition of DC Reads, you will probably want some suggestions for what to read next. For more stories of courageous young people and delicious food, here are a few more YA titles suggested by our reader's advisory database NoveList.

Pride by Ibi Zoboi

One Word Titles: Young Adult Edition

Sometimes one word is all it takes to say what needs to be said.  We all know how long book titles can get, such as Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now! by Dr.

Pages