Story Tags

Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes cover

Staff Pick: "Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes" by Suzanne Collins

Before Katniss Everdeen became a tribute for her district in the Hunger Games, a tribute from her district was paired with a future president.

A Little Life

Escape to an emotional read!

Books that make you cry and laugh out loud.

The list of books below has a combination of genres such as contemporary fiction, romance and erotica. Giving proof that you do not need to focus on one specific genre (fantasy) to escape through books. These are all books that I have read and while reading them I found myself laughing out loud, crying, or clutching my pearls. I hope that if you are in need of an emotionally draining book you find one that fits you within this list!

Jason Reynolds' Grab the Mic:Tell Your Story

Write.Right.Rite - New Video Series to Jump Start Your Creativity

Have you always wanted to write? If so, check out Jason Reynolds' Grab the Mic:Tell Your Story activities to jump start your creativity.

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Current Favorite YA Fantasy Books!

Five binge worthy fantasy books!

I think that fantasy novels are a great way to distract yourself from stress, life, or whatever it is you would like to avoid. They also allow you to completely immerse yourself into a world that is different than your own. Allowing you to pretend to be a warrior, a witch, or even a demon. The five books discussed here are the first books in series. So, if you enjoy the series for the world-building, the characters, the action, the romance, or the drama, you can continue to read more books that each author has published in the worlds. 

Look both ways: a tale told in ten blocks

Spotlight on Jason Reynolds

Are you interested in learning how to write? If so, you might be interested in the Grab the Mic initiative presented by Jason Reynolds at the Library of Congress. In this series, Jason Reynolds will talk to young people directly and present various activities to help build your creativity.

Poems of Rumi

Poetry with Soul (eBooks & Audiobooks)

It's National Poetry Month!! So, I decided to gather a list of poetry-inspired books in celebration of one of my favorite genres! Poetry has the ability to transcend reality, evoke thoughts pertaining to age-old questions, and to provide a sense of comfort. As we all know, the world is presently responding to the harsh realities of COVID-19,  leaving communities quarantined. As we redefine our daily routines, here's a list of poetry-inspired books to assist with reflection, dreaming, grounding, etc.

With the fire on high

Elizabeth Acevedo Recommends

A DC Reads List

For the special edition of DC Reads, we have enlisted a special Read Feed from the author herself! Recommended by Elizabeth Acevedo, here are books, songs, music and recipes to enjoy after you have read With the Fire on High. Some of these are not in the Library, but we wanted to share them all! Books Once you have read With the Fire on High, here are three more delicious reads.

With the fire on high

With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo

YA Read-Alikes for DCReads

If you are reading With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo for our special edition of DC Reads, you will probably want some suggestions for what to read next. For more stories of courageous young people and delicious food, here are a few more YA titles suggested by our reader's advisory database NoveList.

Pride by Ibi Zoboi

One Word Titles: Young Adult Edition

Sometimes one word is all it takes to say what needs to be said.  We all know how long book titles can get, such as Marvin K. Mooney, Will You Please Go Now! by Dr.

The four agreements: a practical guide to personal freedom

A penny for your thoughts!?

Here's a list of books that challenge us to think twice about our thinking. Distractions and unhealthy messages abound so much so, its easy to engage in self-deprecating thought patterns.These books challenge us to find our grounding and to be present with our thoughts as we engage with life. Adult titles: 

Pages