Northeast
Neighborhood Library

Takoma Reads

'The Things They Carried'

It’s Takoma Reads, the podcast where the once and current staff of the Takoma Park Library get together and chat about books.  

Modern library on Writing Workshop

NaNoWriMo Month Inspiration

Reviews of Books on Writing

Several guides to writing have been selected by the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) Committee. Here are reviews of four of these books that can help you on your journey to writing a novel.Beyond the First Draft: the art of fiction, by John Casey, W.W. Norton & Company: New York, 2014

Elephant Coloring Page

The Adult Coloring Club!

Get your color on

Are you a grown-up? Do you take “adult-ing” way too seriously? Do you miss your old pack of crayons? Are you ready to just unwind? Join the Northeast Neighborhood Library for Adult Coloring! It’s time to kick back, relax and be a kid again! Believe it or not, coloring for adults is all the rage. The following is from the New York Times article, "Trendy but Calm: Adult Coloring Books Selling Like Crazy":

Afternoon Freewrite

Afternoon Freewrite

Express Yourself

Sometimes the best way to express yourself is with a nice cup of coffee, a pen, some paper and some good ole' writing. Starting September 16, join the Northeast Neighborhood Library for an "Afternoon Freewrite." Here, you will have the opportunity to let your thoughts and ideas flow freely...onto the page, of course.   This program is held every Wednesday from 1-2:30 p.m., in the conference room on the mezzanine level.

Bark George

Phonological Awareness

Early Literacy tips for parents and caretakers of young children

Researchers say that there are six skills that are important for children to learn before they are ready to read:

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Magical Books for Muggles and Wizards

Readalikes for Harry Potter fans

Are you one of the many readers who finished the Harry Potter series and you don’t know what to read next? Good news: life goes on after you finish Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!

Summer Reading Logo

Summer Reading Block Party

Calling all heroes!

We’ve come to the end of our summer reading program, so let’s party! A block party, that is. Join us on Sunday, Aug. 30 2-5 pm for fun activities and stories and to claim your summer reading prizes! We’ll be set up outside of the library on 7th Street NE between D Street NE and the alley.  Event line up: Get your face painted with cool designs Choose from options of balloon twisting designs Watch guest master storyteller Arianna Ross perform on the patio area 3-4 p.m. Make hero-themed crafts

Chicka Chicka Boom Boom

Letter Knowledge

Early Literacy tips for parents and caretakers of young children

Researchers say that there are six skills that are important for children to learn before they are ready to read:

The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

Fiction Fanatics Book Club

July's book: "The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P." by Adelle Waldman

For July the Fiction Fanatics Book Club is reading The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. by Adelle Waldman.

Illustrated multicolored turtles in neat lines and rows

I Spy Read-Alikes

Riddles, rhymes, and puzzles, oh my!

I spy with my little eye… an awesome group of books! The I Spy series is the much-loved classic by Jean Marzollo that compels younger readers to pour over detailed photographs to find objects in riddles and rhymes. And while the library has many I Spy books to fit your fancy, if you want to challenge your scavenger skills try these read-alikes.

Pages